Databases

List of Databases from A–Z

ABI/INFORM Collection

This collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.

 

Academic OneFile (with InfoTrac Collections)

The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available. See title lists below for up-to-date publication information. 

 

Books & Authors

Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres, and topics. The ideal convergence of science and serendipity, this online resources leverages the INternet's unique capacity to create, build, communicate, and sustain communities of readers. 

Brainfuse

Brainfuse offers users access to resume lab, live job coaching, veteran resource, and access to a variety of tools designed for the college student. 

Business Insights Essentials

Today’s business researchers demand instant access to reliable, comprehensive data and the tools to analyze and interpret the information. Gale Business Insights: Essentials delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.

 

Chilton Library

When it comes to auto repair, do-it-yourselfers and students in the automotive trades have trusted Chilton manuals for years. Now, these exceptional resources are available to your library's patrons in a comprehensive, simple-to-use database offered only by Gale. This 24-hour on-call "mechanic" provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs on the road today. Ford, Chrysler, GM, Honda, Toyota, and numerous other makes are well-represented. With more than 50 years of information on actual auto tear-downs provided in step-by-step procedures, w work on the engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, suspension and more is made easier for mechanics of any experience. Photos, Illustrations, and repair procedures help to simplify even the most arduous tasks. 

 

CINAHL Plus w/ Full-Text

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text is a research tool for nursing areas such as biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and more. Some examples of the publications used are the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. This database also offers access to health care books, standards of practice, educational software, book chapters, and more. 

 

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library and is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. 

 

College Source

College Source Online is a database of 65,010 digital college catalogs, institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources. 

 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a collection that has Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Quotations, and more for a good research experience. The search engine is made to help narrow down to a specific topic. There is also an image search, so all your research can be done in one place. 

 

Ebsco eBook Academic Collection

Need books for a project? Try out this new database with a wide selection of eBooks!

Educator's Reference Complete

This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator–from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty–such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. 

 

Encyclopedia of Social Work

The Encyclopedia of Social Work is an online collaboration between Oxford University Press and the National Association of Social Workers Press. This resource transforms the classic reference work of the same name into a dynamic continuously-updated resource, establishing itself as timely, digital guide for a lifetime of social service. 

 

ERIC
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides an index of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a very large collection of high-quality educational streaming video. It covers a wide range of subjects, from literature to science to psychology. 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library coatings Business Plans Handbooks.This 24-volume series offers researchers access to more than 500 business plan examples from a wide range of industries. Designed to help entrepreneurs with the business plan writing process each volume contains fictional plans, a business plan template, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; along with a glossary and bibliography. 

 

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Health and Wellness Resource Center, Gale's comprehensive consumer health resource, provide accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily. 

 

Health Reference Center Academic

Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and healthcare professionals, Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of healthcare topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions. 

 

Hoover's Company Profiles

Hoover's Company Profiles I the largest commercial database of 85 million companies, 100 million professionals, and 1,000 industry segments; relevant social media links; and customizable news feeds. It provides industry-specific business analysts compile unbiased insights on the top 43,000 global companies, including publicly traded and private ones. Find reports on key competitors, financials, and executives in clear summary formats. 

 

IBISWorld Industry Reports

This database contains industry reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries. Individual reports contain key statistics, segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key competitors, and industry performance and outlook. Search or browse industry reports by NAICS code or keyword

 

Informe Académico

Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese language scholarly journals and magazines, both from and about Latin America. Informe Acedémico provides quality reference material–not simply translations of English-Language materials–on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish. 

 

JSTOR (Art and Science II and II)

JSTOR provides articles of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can search the full text, titles, authors, and abstracts, or browse by journal title or discipline. They add new issues of existing titles and new titles on an ongoing basis. The library subscribes to Art and Science II & III. 

 

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online is a database that holds different topics in English literature such as Contemporary Romance Fiction, Contemporary LIterature of the Holocaust, and much more. There is also a search for authors, where you can find their major works and biographical information. Contemporary Literature Criticism covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.

 

MEDLINE w/ Full Text

MEDLINE with Full Text provides medical information on medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences and more. MEDLINE uses journals dating back to 1949 and full text back to 1965. There are about 4,800 current biomedical journals to search for medical literature. 

New York Times (ProQuest)

The New York Times is published daily and available through ProQuest interface. This link will bring you to the full-text of the newspaper. You can browse through articles by date or search for relevant information. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides a variety of reference tools such as articles, infographics, maps, etc., for when you looking for information to both sides of the story. It's a great resource for debaters or individuals looking for pro/con information. 

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language since 1150. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present, and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED includes all common words of speech and literature, including scientific/technical terms and foreign words in general use.

 

Project Muse Standard Collection 

Project MUSE is a full-text database of over scholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

 

ProQuest Central 

ProQuest Central brings together many of ProQuest's databases to create the most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database available. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. 

 

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. 

 

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is an indexing and abstracting database, that provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. 

 

PubMed Central (PMC)

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM's legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM's extensive print journal collection.

 

Sage Journals

Sage Journals is a collection of journals covering Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities. Many specialized journals are contained in this database. 

 

Salem Press Online

Includes content from Critical Insights and Masterplots. Providing fundamental reference data, plot synopsis where applicable, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English. Documents significant events from the ancient world throughout the 20th century. 

 

Statista

Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

 

Transparent Language Online

Transparent Language Online offers the most comprehensive language-learning solution for libraries. With this flexible program, you can quickly and easily learn new languages using our wide variety of courses and activities.

 

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. 

 

Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal is published daily and available through ProQuest Interface. This link will bring you to the full-text of the newspaper. You can browse the articles by date, or search for relevant information. 

 

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library offers information on dentistry, health and social care, intellectual disabilities, rehabilitation, mental health, addiction, and more. This database allows easy access to articles, chapters, references, and more.